Team Standard Super League

TSSL BracketTeam Standard Super League runs on Tuesday nights starting at 6pm pacific time (not 5) from May 15 through July 10. It will be a shorter season than previous team formats as we’re doing a single elimination bracket this time around. We’re also going to mix up the structure of the matches a bit so that we get to watch all the players and (probably) all the decks too.

Here are the details:

  • 3-player teams submit 5 different* Standard decks
  • *Different means no 2 main decks overlap by more than 10 nonland cards
  • There is no deck banning
  • Teams switch players every round (there is a set schedule that ensures every round is a different pairing, and no one plays again until everyone has had even turns)
  • Players secretly choose decks before each match
  • Teams can’t repeat a deck until they have all been used (and no deck may be played more than twice)
  • First team to win 4 matches is victorious

And now for the fun part – check out this amazing slate of teams!

Viper Brood – Gaby Spartz, Luis Scott-Vargas, Andy Baeckstrom

Stream Dream Team – Kenji Egashira, Caleb Durward, Matthew Foulkes

Brew Crew – Saffron Olive, Todd Stevens, Corbin Hosler

StarCityGames – Emma Handy, Jim Davis, Jadine Klomparens, Collins Mullen

ChannelFireball – Mike Sigrist, Ben Stark, Eric Froehlich

Genesis – Brad Nelson, Seth Manfield, Brian Braun-Duin, Corey Baumeister

Slippery Moguls – Meghan Wolff, Maria Bartholdi, Marshall Sutcliffe

Play Design – Paul Cheon, Melissa de Tora, Tom Ross, Michael Majors, Dan Musser, Andrew Brown, Adam Prosak et al

Team Standard Super League is fully sponsored by Wizards of the Coast. They provide the prizes, access to special “4-of” Magic Online accounts for players to use, and in addition they provide financial compensation to the production staff.

Team Vintage!

Team Vintage Super League starts on Thursday (yes, Thursday) April 19th at 6pm pacific time. The show will follow the same format as the very successful Team Modern season: 8 teams submitting 6 different decks, banning one, and then playing best 4 out of 7 Conqueror style (aka, the winner of any given match keeps playing). We will use the same structure as well: 2 rounds of Swiss with the two 2-0’s getting byes into the Top 4 and the four 1-1’s playing for the other two spots.

TVSL R1 Schedule

Here is the slate of teams that will be competing:

(In video form:

The Academy – Rich Shay, Brian Kelly, Andy Markiton

So Many Insane Plays – Stephen Menendian, Kevin Cron, Jason Jaco, (alternate: Andy Probasco)

Scottsdale Foundation – Paul Rietzl, David Williams, Matt Sperling, (alternate: Bob Maher) – Reid Duke, Eric Froehlich, Randy Buehler

Hornet Queens – Rachel Agnes, Erin Campbell, Athena Froehlich

ChannelFireball – Luis Scott-Vargas, Josh Utter-Leyton, Matt Nass, Sam Pardee

Blue Crab Club – Seth Manfield, Jarvis Yu, Ari Lax – Andreas Petersen, Michael Bonde, Thomas Enevoldsen, (alternate: Julian Knab)

This season should be awesome! See you on Thursday nights (or on YouTube)!

Note: Prize support (but not production support/costs) is provided by Wizards of the Coast. Visit if you want to help fund this and future shows.

VSL Season 7 is Here!

VSL Preseason Teaser

Our format this season has 12 players and we’ll play 9 matches each, with the top 4 records advancing to the playoffs (ties broken by More Magic ™). Each week of the regular season will feature 4 competitors playing 3 matches each, with the makeup of each group being determined randomly.

In addition, all 12 players have agreed not to submit the same deck twice (during the regular season, anyway). We’re looking forward to some quite spicy brewing as we explore the new meta created by the recent changes to the B&R list!

You can support the show on Patreon.

Playoff Time!

VSL Playoffs

For season 6 the playoffs are double round robin. That means everyone plays everyone on Tuesday night March 28, and then they submit new decks and run it back again on Tuesday April 4. At the end of 6 matches each (12 total) whoever has the best record is our winner. If there’s a tie, we will play More Magic ™.

Next Set of Groups:

Group 1: Feb 28


Group 2: March 7



Group 3: March 14



Rules reminder: 1st and 2nd place from Group 1 make the playoffs, along with 1st place from Group 2, and 1st place from the Wildcard Group. The Wildcard Group plays on March 21st and is composed of 3rd and 4th from Group 1, 2nd from Group 2, and 1st from Group 3. Anyone tied for last (on match wins) in Group 3 is demoted to next season’s Play-In Tournament.

Tiebreakers reminder:

Most match wins in current group

Game win % in current group

Head to Head, looking at the entire season

Match win % for entire season

Game win % for entire season

Play more Magic